Puget Sound Regional Council


Ruth Wezeman



Archived Newsletters

In May 2014, the U.S. Department of Commerce designated Washington’s aerospace industry one of 12 Manufacturing Communities through the Economic Development Agency’s Investing in Manufacturing Communities Partnership. This designation helps communities compete for federal grants in support of manufacturing.

Using the Designation

Organizations in Grant, Clallam, King, Kitsap, Pierce, Snohomish counties or the Spokane Metropolitan Statistical Area (Pend Oreille, Stevens or Spokane counties), the areas outlined in the original application, are eligible to apply to use the designation. Only one organization per grant, per period may use the designation. As lead agency, PSRC facilitates selection of these organizations.

To apply, please fill out and submit this form at least two weeks before your grant deadline.

Upcoming Grants and Form Deadlines

Agency Opportunity Deadline for Preference Application Deadline
Economic Development Administration Public Works and Economic Adjustment Assistance Programs Two weeks prior to submission none
Department of Defense Defense Industry Adjustment 2 weeks prior to planned submission ongoing
Department of Agriculture Rural Economic Development Loan & Grant Program 2 weeks prior to planned submission ongoing
Department of Agriculture Business and Industry Guaranteed Loan Program 2 weeks prior to planned submission ongoing
Environmental Protection Agency Targeted Brownfield Assistance 2 weeks prior to planned submission ongoing

PSRC needs to receive your form by the Deadline for Preference date listed in the table in order to be considered for the designation. Winners will receive a letter to include in the grant application. Updates regarding the process will be posted here when available.

Participating Federal Agencies

Department of Commerce

Department of Energy

Department of Defense

Department of Education

Department of Housing and Urban Development

Department of Labor

Department of Transportation

Environmental Protection Agency

National Science Foundation

Small Business Administration

Department of Agriculture


Puget Sound Regional Council • 1011 Western Ave, Suite 500 • Seattle, WA 98104 • 206-464-7090