Bruce Dammeier and Claudia Balducci elected to lead PSRC

General Assembly hears VISION 2050 update, adopts budget and work program

By unanimous vote, the Puget Sound Regional Council's General Assembly elected Pierce County Executive Bruce Dammeier as President and King County Councilmember Claudia Balducci as Vice President of the regional planning agency.

[See photos from the event.]
"Regional coordination is more important than ever as we address the challenges of housing affordability, transportation, economic development and environmental health for a growing region. Working across city and county boundaries is key to ensuring a bright future and I’m pleased to help lead that mission,” said Executive Dammeier.
Forecasts show that employment and population in the region will reach about 3.4 million jobs and 5.8 million people by the year 2050. Over the last year and a half, PSRC’s Growth Management Policy Board has been leading work to develop VISION 2050, extending the region’s growth plan another decade.
“There’s no question our region has benefited from some of the most sustained economic growth in the country,” said Councilmember Balducci. “This is great news for jobs, the economy and the vibrant quality of life many enjoy. But it also brings tremendous challenges, including a housing affordability crisis. Once confined to discrete segments of the region, last week’s news that Tacoma is now the hottest housing market in the U.S. illustrates how much regional work we have left to make homes more affordable. I look forward to creating a shared regional vision with my PSRC colleagues to tackle the very challenges borne out of our region’s successes.”
The meeting included a panel discussion on VISION 2050 featuring Snohomish County Executive Dave Somers, Tacoma Councilmember Ryan Mello, and Redmond Councilmember Hank Margeson. 
The General Assembly also adopted the agency's budget and work program for fiscal years 2020-2021.
The PSRC General Assembly includes elected representation from King, Pierce, Snohomish and Kitsap counties, and more than 80 cities and towns, state agencies, transit agencies, ports, and tribal governments.